Vegan Red Velvet Cupcakes

These red velvet cupcakes will blow your mind! They’re a perfect snack, breakfast, or even a post-workout treat. You will never guess the ingredients!

IMG_9629a

 

I got the recipe from lola who made it into brownies. I didn’t have parchment paper so I decided to make them into cupcakes. This is the first try so they’re not perfect, but delicious and nutritious nevertheless. I followed her video which is super easy! The prep is about 5 minutes only – ANYONE can spare that much time for something this delicious πŸ™‚

cupcakes2a

So, on to the mysterious ingredients. Once you try these you won’t believe these contain beets and chickpeas. Say what? You heard me πŸ™‚ If you’re part of the vegan community you’ve probably already heard about thousand ways beets can be used. But brownies?? Trust me, I was doubtful too, but since every single “weird” sounding vegan/raw recipe I tried was delicious I decided to give this a try. And I’m glad I did because these are easy, delicious and people pleaser.

cupcakesa

 

Here’s the breakdown:

– 2 1/2 cup oats

– 1/4 cup raw cacao powder

– 1 tsp baking powder

– 1 large cooked beet (I used Trader Joe’s pre-cooked beets – 3/4 of the package, but next time I’ll do all of it because the dough wasn’t moist enough)

– 1/2 cup beans (black or garbanzo)

– 1/2 banana or 1/4 cup coconut oil

– 1/3 cup maple syrup

– 1/2 cup almond milk

– 1/2 cup vegan chocolate chips

In a food processor or a blender, blend the dry ingredients until it becomes flour-like consistency. I made a mistake of not processing long enough and that’s why mine are a bit chunky. Put into a bowl and set aside. Put all the wet ingredients into a blender and blend until smooth. Fold into the flour mix and then add some of the chocolate chips (leave some for the top). Pour into a lined pan, or cupcake pan, sprinkle with more chocolate chips and bake 350F for 20 minutes.

Let cool off and serve immediately. These will go fast so snatch as many as you can yourself πŸ™‚

ENJOY!

2 thoughts on “Vegan Red Velvet Cupcakes

  1. So glad you shared this! My mom makes a red velvet cake that I don’t eat anymore as it’s not vegan and has that awful red food colouring. I’ll have to take a batch of these cupcakes the next time she plans on serving her cake!

    Like

Leave a Reply

