Frozen Coconut Almond Vegan Bites

 coconutbites1

Hi there fellow sweet tooth lovers!

Do you like coconut? Keep reading.

Almonds? Check!

Got chocolate? You betcha and then some.

If you want to know how to make these lovely frozen treats, read on.

cocontbites6

Here’s the thing. I’m busy. Every day, all day. I’m a wife and a mom and I work full time. I’ll spare you the boring details, but here’s what I’ll tell ya: No matter how busy and tired I am, I always try to make time to make some treats. The worst thing is when it’s around 10pm and a recipe hits me and I simply CANNOT not try to make it. So I get up, start gathering ingredients and mix and blend and create. Insert image of a mad scientist. This is one of those recipes. Luckily, my husband is very supportive and he learned to just go with the flow and let me make things.

 

 

coconutbites4

 

 

 

Ingredients:

Bites:

1 can of coconut cream (I used Trader Joe’s)

1 cup millet puffs

1 cup almonds

1/2 cup coconut shavings (I like the big chunky ones for funky shapes, but feel free to use smaller pieces too)

1 tbs chia seeds

1 tbs brown rice syrup (my favorite sweetener)

Fudge:

1/3 cup coconut oil

1 tbs – 1/4 cup brown rice syrup (I used 1/4 cup and the fudge was VERY fugdy – very caramel consistency. If you’d like it a little more runny, which means it’ll take less time for it to harden on the bites, use less)

1 tbs raw cacao powder

coconutbites5

Combine all ingredients in a bowl – I crushed the large coconut shavings with my hand a bit. The consistency will vary based on whether the coconut cream is chilled or room temperature. I used room temperature so I had to put the bowl into freezer for about an hour so that everything hardened and I could form bites more easily. Next, parchment paper is your best friend. Trust me on this one, otherwise you’ll have coconut cream even behind your ears. Anyways, form the bites and put on the paper. Put into the freezer until they harden.

coconutbites3

Make fudge while the bites are in the freezer. Take a small pan, turn the stove on medium heat and melt coconut oil. Add brown rice syrup and mix the whole time until it combines with the coconut oil, never letting it reach boiling point. Turn off the heat, set aside and add raw cacao powder little by little. Mix well until combined. Take the bites out of the freezer and dunk, decorate, or just leave plain. Serve frozen or chilled.

Enjoy! 

coconutbites2

Leave a Reply

