Vegan Quinoa and White Bean Burgers

IMG_8505

Let me introduce to you my most favorite lunch/brunch/dinner/snack! So easy, so nutritious and so yummy. You’ll please your whole family, I promise you. Notice how one picture has 3 patties, the next 4 and the last one 5. Well, they are technically out of order. As I was taking pictures my toddler son kept stealing them πŸ˜€ He was sayingΒ things like “hmmm, mama,” “I like it mama,” “hmm, yummy,” every time he came to take one. I had to keep a straight face, but you know that was the biggest compliment I could’ve gotten!

IMG_8477b

The best thing about these is that you can customize them to no end and you can’t really go wrong. I change them pretty much every time I make them, but I think I like this batch the best so far so I’ve decided to share it.

All you need is:

1 cup raw quinoa, cooked – you’ll end up with about double the amount once it’s cooked

1 can of beans – this time I used Great Northern White Beans, but I made theseΒ with all different kinds before

1 garlic clove

1.5 tbsp chopped onion

1/4 tsp salt

1/8 tsp black pepper and red paprika

a light sprinkle of oregano

1 tbsp fresh cilantro

juice from half a small lemon

about 1 cup of bread crumbs

coconut oil for frying

Method:

Cook quinoa based on instructions – I used tri-color quinoa from Trader Joe’s. While it’s cooking, put all the rest of ingredients (except bread crumbs) into your food processor and blend until you get a smooth taste. If you prefer the mixture to have a bit of texture watch it and blend less. Once the quinoa is cooked mix it with the paste and let cool. Last, but not least, mix in the bread crumbs a bit at a time until you achieve a thicker paste that won’t fall apart when it’s being cooked. Heat coconut oil in skillet on medium heat, scoop the paste with 1/4 cup measuring cup and add as many to skillet as you can. Then press down lightly to achieve the patty look. Cook both sides until golden brown. I like to eat them by themselves or on a bed of spinach and hummus on top. Or, hey, you can go wild and make a burger!

Serve and enjoy with your loved ones.

IMG_8488a

Leave a Reply

