Decadent Chocolate Bliss Balls

IMG_8875

I’ve been wanting to make chocolate-y treats with quinoa ever since I’ve tried 2 Degrees Food chocolate peanut butter bar. It has amazing ingredients and the best part is that every time you buy one bar another one is given to a hungry child. WIN! These bars are filling, tasty and healthy. What’s not to love?

IMG_8866

I played with the idea in my head for quite some time and even got encouraged by the company itself to make a different recipe. That was all the motivation I needed and I created these the next day!

The trick is to get the dough to the right consistency and texture. I knew I wanted the nuts to be chunky, but the rest of it as smooth as possible. I also wanted to make sure that the ingredients are nutritious, filling, but yummy. As always.

I played around with the dough without blending any of it, but in the end I had to do it. The best part? The nuts stayed chunky and the rest is pretty smooth because I made sure to on use pulse function on my food processor.

Bliss Balls
  1. 1/2 cup uncooked red quinoa
  2. 1/2 cup raw hazelnuts
  3. 2 tbsp raw cacao powder, plus more for coating
  4. 3 tbsp maple syrup, or as needed
  5. 1 cup of puffed rice (this gives the treats nice airy texture)
  6. 1 tbsp melted coconut oil
Chocolate
  1. 1/2 cup raw cacao powder
  2. 1/2 cup coconut oil
  3. 1/4 cup maple syrup
Instructions
  1. – cook quinoa according to instructions, rinse and set aside
  2. – put hazelnuts into food processor and pulse until desired texture is achieved – you can go all the way if you’d like to use hazelnut butter instead
  3. – put all the ingredients into a blender and pulse until you get a dough like consistency with some ingredients blended only partially (see picture of one bliss ball cut in half)
  4. – form balls with hands, or using two spoons, put on parchment paper and put in the freezer for 15 – 30 minutes
  5. – use desired toppings! let your imagination go wild, please and let me know how it goes 🙂 I used raw cacao powder, coconut shavings and raw vegan chocolate.
  6. – put into fridge and store in air tight container
  7. – serve to loved ones
Notes
  1. Tip: if you missed my previous make-your-own-chocolate posts, here’s how I make it – I melt the coconut oil and maple syrup and then slowly add cacao powder and I get a nice rich consistency.

Have a great morning/day/evening, whatever time zone you’re in currently 🙂

IMG_8887

IMG_8869

Leave a Reply

