Bublanina – Traditional Slovak/Czech cake veganized

IMG_9141

 As many of you know, I am not from the US. It took me years and a lot of stubbornness to embrace where I’m from while loving the new place I moved to. I would say my desire to reconnect to my roots became the strongest when my son was born. (Pssst, he helped me make this :)) I realized the importance of keeping our cultural values and I make sure to continuously let him know where our family is from. Slovak cooking is traditionally very “heavy” and “food coma-ish” – lots of starch, dairy and flour, but it all has its historical significance .

However, I do miss all of the food as it connects me to my family whom I miss a lot. You know how a scent takes you back in memories to a specific time and place and you know exactly who you were with and what you were doing? That’s what this does to me. I can’t have my family with me, but I can keep the memories well alive with the food.

 IMG_9122

This cake is so simple to make you won’t believe it. You only need 10 minutes, hot oven and 8 ingredients. Simple! Yummy! Make it now! The best thing about this cake is that you can use whatever fruit you’d like. I used blackberries last time and blueberries now, but let your imagination run wild. At home, we used cherries and plums most often since they were in my grandparents’ garden. Next time I’ll make it with raspberries, I think.

Ingredients
  1. 3/4 cup maple syrup
  2. 2 flaxseed eggs
  3. 1+3/4 cup whole wheat flour
  4. 1/4 cup cashew or almond meal
  5. 1 tsp baking powder
  6. 1/4 cup coconut oil, melted
  7. 3/4 tsp vanilla extract
  8. 1 cup almond milk.
Instructions
  1.  Make flaxseed eggs and let them sit for a couple of minutes.
  2.  In the meantime, mix everything else in a bowl.
  3.  Pour into baking dish and bake for about 30 – 45 minutes on 350°F, or until the toothpick comes out clean.
  4.  Serve to loved ones.


IMG_9134

 

Leave a Reply

