Red Paprika and Garlic Hummus

IMG_9277s

Hi y’all! How is everyone doing?

Today I bring you another one of my favorite snacks and it’s not sweet – surprisingly. When I was about to try to make hummus at home for the first time I read quite a lot of recipes. One thing that was prevalent among all of them was – “once you make it at home you won’t be buying it in store anymore.” I thought, “well, how much different can it really be?” I’m glad I made the effort because I can tell you it’s nothing like store bought! It’s SO MUCH better.

IMG_9282

I’ve been making it for quite some time now. A couple of months agoΒ I didn’t pack anything for work so I bought a snack that had hummus in it. Let me tell you – HUGE disappointment. I mean, I used to be a girl who couldn’t really tell the difference between healthy and unhealthy. Once I started eating healthy, however, my taste buds changed and my body adjusted and I no longer like the taste of processed food. Please don’t think I’m snobbish – this change shocked me more than probably you and I’m so glad it happened.

IMG_9289This post was quite challenging for me because I’ve been trying to research ways to better my pictures. I stumbled upon Ashley’s blogΒ and she has a very helpful section on how to make your pictures better. Go and check it out, she’s amazing! The picture below was done thanks to one of her posts and the rest of them are a better quality because of her advice. Thanks Ashley!

IMG_9346This hummus of mine you’re about to make (;)) is so versatile and yummy you’ll want to have it in stock 24/7. I change it up every time I make it (as always). You can play around with the amounts of paprika and garlic to adjust to your liking. This one has a lot of garlic because, well, why not. Garlic is super healthy, yummy, therapeutic and it helps with cold. What’s not to like? Except the bad breath, I mean.

IMG_9323

Ingredients
  1. 1 can of organic chickpeas drained partially (I like to keep some of the liquid)
  2. 1 tbsp tahini sauce
  3. 1 tsp cumin
  4. 1/2 tsp red smoked paprika + more for topping
  5. 1/4 tsp red himalayan salt
  6. 2 garlic cloves
  7. 1 tsp lemon juice
  8. water to add as needed
Instructions
  1. Put all of the ingredients in a food processor and blend until smooth
  2. Add water as needed to achieve desired consistency – I didn’t add much because I don’t like hummus too runny
  3. Serve to loved ones with bread, crackers, or veggies or all of those πŸ™‚
Notes
  1. I like to keep hummus in a mason jar because it’s airtight and that way it’ll last longer.

IMG_9311

7 thoughts on “Red Paprika and Garlic Hummus

  1. Hi! I just wanted to let you know I made this and it was so good. My six year old daughter kept eating hers by the spoonful. πŸ™‚ Thanks for the recipe! Your pics look awesome!

    Like

  2. Hi! I just wanted to let you know I made this and it was so good! My six year old daughter kept eating hers by the spoonful. πŸ™‚ Thanks for the recipe! Your pics look awesome!

    Like

  3. How do you get everything to blend smoothly? Mine still had chunks of chickpeas and garlic when I was done with it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

