Vegan Orange Mint Scones with Orange Icing

IMG_9922-1I mentioned already that I love orange infused anything. Or mint. I do, I really do.

And when you put both of them together –ย SIGN ME UP!

IMG_9934-1When this idea came to my mind it was a given I was making it that same day. I mean, come on, you can’t not make them. So crunchy and fluffy at the same time…The almonds get roasted so nicely and their smell and crunch is addicting. Secret? I made sure that when I was making almond flour I didn’t grind it up all the way. I stopped processing about half way where I normally would so that way, I had some flour, some small pieces and then bigger chunks. YUM! I wish I could have you taste that through computer ๐Ÿ˜€IMG_9949-1

Orange and mint. Forever an amazing combo. I wanted to make sure that the scones have a balanced flavor or orange and almonds with a hint of peppermint and, boy, did I luck out! Imagine this: theย flavors enter your taste buds one at a time so you get to experience all of them separately and then they all blend together for an amazing mix of deliciousness. Oh my gosh, I honestly can’t even describe how amazing these are! Thank goodness I only made a small batch because I ate my share right away.

Have them with your favorite cup of tea or coffee and you’ll see your day will be better right away ๐Ÿ˜‰

Enjoy!

IMG_9959-1IMG_9966-1

For scones
  1. 2 flaxseed eggs
  2. 1/4 maple syrup
  3. 1 cup almonds
  4. 1 cup flour – I used whole wheat
  5. 1 1/2 tsp organic orange flavor
  6. 1/2 tsp organic peppermint flavor
  7. 8 tbsp COLD vegan butter
  8. 1tsp baking powder
  9. 1/4 tsp baking soda
For icing
  1. 1/4 confectioners sugar
  2. 3 tbsp vegan butter, melted
  3. couple of drops orange flavor
Instructions
  1. Preheat oven to 400F.
  2. Make flaxseed egg, let sit for about 5 minutes.
  3. In another bowl, mix orange and peppermint flavor with maple syrup.
  4. Add all of the dry ingredients and flaxseed egg and mix well.
  5. Add cold butter and quickly mix/knead with hands until everything is mixed together.
  6. Put a sheet of parchment paper on a flat surface and add dough.
  7. Press down until until a flat circle forms, about one inch high.
  8. Cut into triangles and put on a baking sheet along with the parchment paper.
  9. Make sure you pull the scones away from each other, about an inch because they’ll rise during baking.
  10. Bake for 17 minutes, or until the toothpick comes out clean.
Icing
  1. Melt butter, add orange flavor and slowly add sugar until you get the right consistency.
  2. Drizzle on scones and wait until it hardens.
  3. Enjoy with your loved ones!
Adapted from My Baking Addiction

IMG_9995-1

IMG_9951-1-2

2 thoughts on “Vegan Orange Mint Scones with Orange Icing

Leave a Reply

