Vegan Chocolate Covered Popcorn

I’ve been waiting SO long to make chocolate popcorn. Honestly, I have no idea why.

I make chocolate all the time.

I make popcorn all the time.

So what’s the deal? I guess I was missing cute cartons that say “popcorn” on them because once I bought them I made it πŸ˜€

Β IMG_0191-1

Have you ever made your own popcorn? SO easy. Always fresh, warm, crunchy. It’s the best. If you follow me on Instagram, you know how much fun I have making it.

When I was little, there was no store bought popcorn. Not that I’m that old, but I grew up in a country in Eastern Europe (politically, otherwise it’s central) and there was nothing like that available. So, we made our own. And that was the best part! It was a ritual – make popcorn, watch a movie.

So now, even though I’m grown up and can buy a popcorn in a bag (which I sometimes do), I prefer to make my own. The way your house smells when you make it (granted you don’t burn it :D) is amazing.

And who doesn’t like chocolate covered popcorn? Get out of here, no way you don’t πŸ™‚ So here you go, for your enjoyment in those quiet evenings with your loved ones, I give you chocolate covered popcorn.IMG_0207-1

Ingredients
  1. 1/2 cup popcorn
  2. 1tbsp coconut oil
  3. pinch of salt
  4. 1/4 cup cacao butter
  5. 1tbsp maple syrup
  6. 1/4 cup raw cacao powder, or as needed
Instructions
  1. Make popcorn by putting dry corn and coconut oil in a tall pot.
  2. Turn heat on high and wait until it starts popping.
  3. When the popping gets fast, turn off heat and wait until it stops completely. Empty into a bowl, add a bit of salt and let cool off. Make sure you don’t over-salt to create a good balance with chocolate.
  4. Prepare chocolate by melting cacao butter and maple syrup over medium heat. Stir while melting.
  5. Once it’s melted, add cacao powder little by little until a thinker cream forms.
  6. Wait until it cools off completely, but not enough to start hardening. You can check this by stirring occasionally.
  7. Pour over cooled popcorn and pop into freezer for a couple of minutes until it hardens.
  8. Enjoy with your loved ones!

IMG_0250-1

2 thoughts on “Vegan Chocolate Covered Popcorn

Leave a Reply

