Raw Strawberry Jam

Jam, jelly, marmelade.

Do you remember those early mornings on the weekends when nothing was more satisfying than a toast with jam? A homemade one? I was lucky enough to have a grandma who made almost everything from scratch. We’re talking jam, pickled anything; even pasta was homemade. That woman was amazing and I hate the fact that when I was a teenager and she wanted to teach me how to make things I was “too cool” for that.

Ever since I remember I would spend time with her in the kitchen with cutting boards and flour and dough everywhere and I had my kid’s version of tools and she let me play along as she was preparing things. It was magic. My grandma was the kindest woman I’ve known – selfless, loving, but she stood her ground on things she believed in and I wish I got to spend more than just the 14 years I’ve had with her. I have now lived more of my life without her than I did with her, but there isn’t a day when I don’t miss her. She was a great friend – I could tell her anything. There are many recipes that were her staples and I can only try to be as close as I can, but I’ll never make them as good as she did.

IMG_0326-1

It doesn’t hurt to try though. And now, trying to be more healthy, I take recipes we have from her and adjust them. That way I get the best of both worlds 🙂

I still remember my grandma making jam at her house. She had all the berries she needed in her garden so we spend a day together picking them and then cooking. The house smelled so amazing – her kitchen was always warm and steamy and yummy smelling.

While I don’t have time to make cooked jam, I sure do have time to make a raw one. And I did and I love it. You will too!
IMG_0360-1

It only takes about 5 minutes of prep, 3 ingredients and a bread with peanut butter on one side, just waiting for that jelly to be slapped on 😀

PB&J – let me tell you how weirded out I was when I first learned of this when I came to the states – “What do you mean salty and sweet? Peanuts and jelly? EEEEEEWWWWW.” But then I learned that different things are not necessarily better or worse than the ones we’re used to, they’re just different and I have simply experienced a classic culture shock. It did take me 3 years to try this, but once I did I was hooked. And let me tell you about homemade PB&J! Or, why don’t you just make it and tell me what you think? 😉IMG_0361-1

ngredients
  1. 3 cups fresh or frozen strawberries
  2. 1/4 cup maple syrup
  3. 1/4 cup chia
Instructions
  1. If using frozen strawberries, let thaw.
  2. Put into a blender along with maple syrup and blend until smooth, or desired consistency.
  3. Put in a bowl and mix in chia seeds.
  4. Let sit for about an hour until chia puffs up and creates a thicker consistency.
  5. Enjoy with loved ones!
Leave a Reply

