Buchty – Slovak Jam Filled Pastry Veganized

IMG_0369-1

You know that one thing your grandma made you just love? This is it for me – buchty. I remember coming home after playing outside all day and warm buchty were waiting for me – the smell of them and the heat and steam of the oven filled the whole kitchen as I walked in. The memory takes me back whenever I want to and that’s the magic of it.

This whole week seems to be me reminiscing about my childhood and my grandma πŸ™‚ Since I’m talking so much about her, here’s a visual of this beautiful woman:

Screen Shot 2015-03-26 at 9.12.05 AM

Buchty (plural) are something between a pastry and a bun, filled with jam, nuts or poppy seeds. They are the best snack in the afternoon with your tea or coffee. Soft and fluffy on the sides and inside and crunchy on top and bottom – that’s a perfect buchta (singular). To fill them I used the jam I posted about before this.Β IMG_0395-1

OK, so this is not one of those super healthy posts – I get it. But what’s life without a variety? πŸ™‚

I have swapped all ingredients for their better versions and the jam I used is raw with barely any sugar. I was able to do so without sacrificing the texture, taste and the look. So here you go, a little taste of Slovakia for you.IMG_0404-1

Ingredients
  1. 3.5 cups unbleached flour
  2. pinch of salt
  3. 1/4 cup maple syrup (room temperature)
  4. 2 tsp yeast
  5. 1 cup unsweetened almond milk (warmed up a bit, not boiling)
  6. 8 tbsp melted vegan butter + more to grease the buns
  7. 1 flaxseed egg
  8. coconut oil to grease the bowl
  9. Optional: confectioner’s sugar for top
  10. Fillings: jam, nuts, poppy seeds, cream cheese – possibilities are endless.
Instructions
  1. In a large bowl, mix flour and salt and make a well in the center.
  2. Warm milk (not boiling) and pour half of it into the well. Add maple syrup and yeast and let sit for about 10 minutes to activate the yeast.
  3. In a separate bowl make flaxseed egg and let it sit while the yeast is activating.
  4. Add melted butter to the rest of the milk and mix. Then add the flaxseed egg a mix again.
  5. After the yeast has activated, add the milk-butter-egg mixture to the bowl with flour.
  6. Put the dough on a cutting board and knead like you’ve never kneaded before until the dough is soft and springy. Hands are the best, but if you’re like me, you’ll use a mixer πŸ™‚
  7. Wash the bowl the dough was in. Coat it with coconut oil and put the dough back in. Let rise for about an hour, or until it doubles in size.
  8. Preheat the oven to 380F.
  9. Butter a large baking dish and set aside.
  10. Quarter the dough, then divide each part into 4 parts. See notes below.
  11. Take one piece of dough, flatten into a circle, fill with filling of choice (I did jam), pinch together to seal and brush each piece with melted vegan butter.
  12. Put into baking dish pinched side down.
  13. Use up all the dough and let the buns sit 20 more minutes.
  14. Bake for 25-35 minutes, until the top is golden brown.
  15. Let cool and sprinkle sugar on top.
  16. Enjoy with loved ones!
Notes
  1. The original recipe calls for dividing the quartered dough into 8 small pieces, but my buchty came out very small, hence I’d cut into 4 pieces.
Adapted from Grown to Cook

IMG_0411-1

2 thoughts on “Buchty – Slovak Jam Filled Pastry Veganized

Leave a Reply

