Green Series: Vegan Matcha Cheesecake with Spirulina Sprinkles

IMG_0922-1 IMG_0931-1

Aaand, another cheesecake is here 🙂 Yes, it is and it’s been too long. I love vegan cheesecakes because they’re an amazing snack full of nutrition and flavor. So simple and so delicious. This cheesecake is only 5 ingredients. Yes, it’s that easy. Can you believe it? You better.

IMG_0965-1

Remember how I told you I didn’t really like dates until I decided to step outside the box and try them? Well, I’ve been loving them ever since. I love dates filled with peanut butter as a snack at work.

Dates and almonds are the only two ingredients you need for the crust! I couldn’t decide what to use as toppings/sprinkles until I realized my beloved Organic Burst Spirulina granules were the perfect match – they’re green which matches matcha (ha), they look like sprinkles AND they are filled with amazing health benefits. You can’t go wrong with them.

IMG_0944-1

And matcha – I’ve been wanting to try matcha for so long! Its amazing health benefits were one reason (antioxidants and energy boost, just to name a couple). Also, I’m a sucker for anything colorful, so there. Unusually looking foods are my favorite. I love to shock, what can I say. Not that matcha is that shocking, but it did create a green cake, so kinda. I took this to work and the response was overwhelmingly positive, even by meat eaters 😛 I love this cheesecake as a snack or a treat. So go and make it and let me know if you love it as much as I do.

IMG_1001-1

Crust
  1. 1 cup dates, soaked 15 minutes
  2. 1 cup raw almonds
Filling
  1. 1/2 cup almond milk, unsweetened
  2. 2 cups raw cashews, soaked for at least 4 hours
  3. 1 tbsp matcha (I accidentally bought sweetened one, but if you have regular sweeten with preferred sweetener)
  4. Optional, but highly recommended: Spirulina granules
Instructions
  1. Put almonds and dates into food processor and blend until dough forms.
  2. Press into cake form, I used a 9 inch. Put into freezer while preparing filling.
  3. In a high speed blender (or food processor) put the filling ingredients and blend until super smooth.
  4. Pour over the base and put into freezer for at least 2 hours.
  5. Share with loved ones frozen or chilled. It will hold form out of fridge too.
6 thoughts on “Green Series: Vegan Matcha Cheesecake with Spirulina Sprinkles

Leave a Reply

