Vegan Pumpkin Ice Cream

It’s getting colder out here because my favorite season is here! And so, here in the US, there are pumpkins everywhere. I love the different shapes and colors of them and I want to put them all over our apartment.

I was raised without the beautiful pumpkins during fall and without foods involving orange pumpkins – we only have squashes and zucchini back home so not so much fun. It took me a while to get used to it when I moved here, but once I tasted a pumpkin pie I was in heaven!Β IMG_2441-1

I knew I had to make something pumpkin-flavored but being a novice in the area, I wasn’t really sure which way to go. This recipe has an ingredient not usually associated with ice cream – tofu πŸ™‚ I have recently made a chocolate mousse with tofu I am completely smitten withΒ (see my Instagram) and so I wonderedΒ if I could maybe use tofu in ice cream. I gave it a try and I’m very glad I did because it gives it a super creamy consistency. Just what I needed. Then, the combination of the pumpkin puree and pumpkin pie spice…hmmm….what can I say? You HAVE TO try it!

Oh, and one more thing – no cashews, no nut milk and no sweetener πŸ˜‰ 5 ingredients and a little love and you’re ready.IMG_2453-1

So, you wanna? If you do, here’s the recipe:

Ingredients:

1 can pureed pumpkin

1/4 cup water

1 package firm tofu (16oz)

15 dates soaked in hot water for 15 minutes

1/5 tsp pumpkin pie spice

Method:

1. Add all ingredients into high speed blender and blend until super smooth. There’s not much water in the recipe because I wanted to make sure it stays nice and creamy so it might take a bit longer to get it blended. My blender did fine, about 2 cycles.

2. Chill the mix in the fridge – mine was warm from 2 blend cycles in my blender.

3. Process in ice cream maker based on manufacturer’s instructions until it becomes a soft serve consistency.

4. Transfer the mixture into ice cream container and enjoy immediately or freeze for a firmer consistency.

5. Sprinkle with some cinnamon and enjoy with loved ones!IMG_2448-1 Β Β IMG_2465-1

2 thoughts on “Vegan Pumpkin Ice Cream

  1. This looks awesome! However, i don’t have an ice cream maker… Do I need to use an ice cream maker for this or can I just do it in my food processor and then freeze it in a tupperware?

    Like

Leave a Reply

